CA Landscape Conservation Cooperative Teams

Teams are part of the way CA LCC addresses priority topics. The CA LCC Charter provides information about team membership, roles, and responsibilities. Currently, CA LCC has two teams: Science-Manager Team, and Tribal Team. Details for each Team are below:

Science-Management Team

The CA LCC convened a diverse team of about 20 managers and scientists to guide the CA LCCs' scientific support for natural resource managers to incorporate climate-smart conservation strategies into their management actions. Through the guidance of the Science-Management Team, the CA LCC developed a 5-year Science-Management Framework. This team will assists in the development of projects, workshops and trainings.

Science-Manager Team members:

Member Organization
Whitney Albright CA Deparment of Fish and Wildlife
Emily Alejandrino CA Department of Water Resources
Sarah Allen National Paks Service
Grant Ballard Point Blue Conservation Science
Giselle Block US Fish & Wildlife Service
David Boughton National Marine Fisheries Service
Damion Ciotti US Fish & Wildlife Service
Caroline Enquist Southwest Climate Science Center
Matt Gerhart State Coastal Conservancy
Armand Gonzales CA Deparment of Fish and Wildlife
John Hopkins CA Habitat Conservation Planning Coalition
Chrissy Howell US Forest Service
Meagan Jennings Climate Science Alliance - South Coast
Amber Kerr USDA Southwest Climate Hub
Dean Kwasney Natrual Resource Conservation Service
Javier Linares US Fish & Wildlife Service
Anne Morkill US Fish & Wildlife Service
Koren Nydick National Park Service
Pat Rutten NOAA National Marine Fisheries Service
Wayne Spencer Conservation Biology Institute
Kerri Steenwerth USDA Agricultural Research Service
Michael Tansey US Bureau of Reclamation
Karen Thorne US Geological Survey
Jim Wiegand Bureau of Land Management
Greg Yarris Central Valley Joint Venture

Tribal Team

The CA LCC Tribal Team supports the integration of TEK into management practices to ensure resilient and sustainable natural landscapes for California. This Team guided the development of Tribal Climate Adaptation and TEK workshops. In the future, the Tribal Team will guide potential Tribal specific CA LCC projects and integrate Tribal representation on to the CA LCC Steering Committee. Click here to learn more about the Tribal Team.

Tribal Team Leadership:


Region & Organization
Dore Bietz, Tribal Team Chair Sierrra Nevada, Tuolumne Band of Me-Wuk Indians
Emily Alejandrino Bay Delta, CA Department of Water Resources
Kurt Broz South Coast, Pala Band of Mission Indians